Elle’s Prayers

Last night I decided it was time to teach Elle a new prayer. I think she should know the Our Father, but think it may be a little too long for her. So I opted for the prayer to her Guardian Angel. This is what she’s been praying the last couple of days:

Angel of God, my Guardian dear,
To whom God’s love commits me here.
Ever this day, be at my side
to light and guard, to rule and guide. Amen.

I started looking into religious education for her because she has been very curious about God and Jesus, but most parishes don’t start until first grade. One church starts at four, but we are not members of that parish. I also read the prayers that she should know by the time she is in first grade. Those are:

Grace Before Meals
Sign of the Cross
Hail Mary
Glory Be
Our Father
Angel of God

We’ve got three more to learn, but she’s on track!

Leave a Reply

